This is not about you.

I am a leaf in a tree

As a leaf in a tree

I tend to sway with the wind

As do the other leaves

As a leaf in a tree

I tend to fall

As soon as the others do

As a leaf in a tree

I tend to rot

When the tree dies

One day

When the wind blew just right

And I swayed

Just right

One day

When the others fell

And I didn’t

When I stayed

I noticed another leaf

So beautifully swaying

And staying

Not falling

We weren’t on the same branch

And the other leaf was certainly

Greener

And a lot healthier

Than I

But I could still see this other leaf

Staying

And swaying

So I swayed

With her

I mean it

It

I mean her

Noticed me

And we swayed together

Then I fell

I don’t know what happened to my favorite leaf

But I know the tree died

For sure.

Leave a Reply

